Reviews

What people are saying about The Anchor Hotel




Comfortable overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay in the Anchor cottage. It was clean, comfortable and cosy. The staff were very helpful, we had dinner and breakfast, both well presented and tasty. We would highlyrecommend the Anchor.

Reviewer:Patricia K | Tue 15th Jan 2019 | 8 months ago


Birthday treat..... - Rating 4/5

Eaten in this hotel twice over the years and found it excellent, hence a return for an overnight birthday treat. Food and service 1st class, room on the small side but more than adequate and clean.We chose to eat in the bar where it was warm and cosy, with a good atmosphere. Johnshaven is a lovely seaside village to wander round with some great signposting! The whole experience was good value for money.

Reviewer:Cerise B | Mon 14th Jan 2019 | 8 months ago


Great apartment near the harbour - Rating 5/5

Visiting Johnshaven for one night, the Anchor apartment was a perfect choice. It was warm, cosy, comfortable and fully equipped.The staff were very welcoming.The Anchor is renowned locally for its delicious food and it lived up to its reputation.A hearty bowl of the famous Cullen Skink followed by glorious helpings of Cranachan were a real treat.Breakfast kept us going for the whole day!

Reviewer:dorothy b | Sun 6th Jan 2019 | 8 months ago


Stayed on 30/12/2018 - Rating 5/5

Food ,staff and acomadation were excellent

Reviewer:Anthony G | Wed 2nd Jan 2019 | 9 months ago


Happy guests - Rating 4/5

We stayed in a cottage belonging to the hotel which was clean, comfortable and cosy. Because we were self catering we could have done with slightly more in the way of utensils but anything we asked for was given. The fridge broke down so we lost quite a bit of food, but a voucher from the hotel covered most of the cost of a meal for three. Would we come back? Most definitely.

Reviewer:Joan W | Sat 29th Dec 2018 | 9 months ago


friendly and confortable - Rating 4/5

It's great to see thriving hotels/restaurants in large villages such as Johnshaven, which is a really attractive place. Hotel has friendly staff, a good restaurant, a comfortable well priced room with good shower. A small downside is the slight smell of old cooking oil... not sure if this is due to the location of the kitchen... but all in all a good place to stay

Reviewer:Alec E | Sat 29th Dec 2018 | 9 months ago


Anchor Hotel- Rating 5/5

Hotel is very friendly,cannot fault the place,staff are all so so helpful,the food is outstanding, rooms are cosy and comfortable, we go here 3/4 times a year,very relaxing,and prices very reasonable.

Reviewer:R | Sun 23rd Dec 2018 | 9 months ago


Hidden gem! - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished we were there for longer. Fabulous food and great hospitality. Thank you Gary!

Reviewer:Kylie L | Fri 16th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


Excellent for a stopover - Rating 5/5

Excellent location in a small village by the sea. Simple but clean accomodation. Good service and food.

Reviewer:Robert H | Thu 8th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


brian and lynne.. - Rating 5/5

bed was comfy,food was good,and we enjoyed our stay...

Reviewer:Brian G | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 11 months ago


Quaint clean and comfortable- Rating 4/5

This no frills accommodation ticked all the boxes for a 1 night stay. A small en suite room with a bed tea and coffee making facilities and a small television was all I needed for my stay no cupboards for putting away my clothes but then I was only staying 1 night. The high point is the staff the bar/restaurant and the foodwhich was the best. I had Cullen skink and Cod Mornay which was as good as I’ve ever tasted, the bar was very well stocked with beers lager wine and spirits and the breakfast choice and full Scottish was filling for the rest of the day with very tasty local food. At £58for Band B it doesn’t stretch the pocket either. If I’m in the area I will be back.

Reviewer:David Y | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 11 months ago


Top hotel - Rating 4/5

Mooi hotel. Klein maar mooi en schone kamer.Hotel ligt letterlijk naast de zee, heerlijk om te wandelen.Eten in het hotel is lekker en de bediening id top

Reviewer:Monica N | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Johnshaven - Rating 5/5

Lovely peaceful spot great bar and superb food especially sea food

Reviewer:June M | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Break - Rating 4/5

On arrival I was horrified when climbing the stairs to our room the carpet was filthy and worn, I room was small but spotlessly clean. Staff were all very friendly. The food was amazing, delicious, would advise anyone to go there for a meal.

Reviewer:M | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Another great stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night with mum (88 years young) and had another great stay.This time we had the one bedroom apartment and a room in the hotel.The apartment was lovely and mum was very comfortable there, especially with the big bed and the wet room.Our room in the hotel was quite small but more than adequate for one night. Dinner was lovely and the service was great.Big thank you to all at The Anchor.

Reviewer:Karen H | Tue 21st Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Un bel posto dove pernottare - Rating 5/5

Camera familiare molto pulita e accogliente.Personale molto gentile.

Reviewer:luciano f | Tue 14th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Un bel posto dove pernottare - Rating 5/5

Camere e bagno molto puliti. Personale molto gentile e sorridente.Cucina eccellente.Lo consiglio vivamente.

Reviewer:luciano f | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely place and staff - Rating 5/5

Stayed in apartment opposite the pub. Great space very well kitted out. Had breakfast each morning in the restaurant which was cooked to order and very tasty.

Reviewer:Zoe S | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Welcoming,friendly hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely laid back hotel thst made me and my dog vey welcome. Room comfortable and food was amazing. All in a lovely harbour setting. Highly recommend a wee stay here.

Reviewer:Martin R | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Genial estancia - Rating 5/5

Estuvimos solo una noche, pero lo disfrutamos. Relación calidad precio inmejorable, el personal muy amable y la comida genial

Reviewer:Carlos Garcia de M | Fri 6th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely apartment - Rating 5/5

Lovely spacious apartment just across from the Anchor Hotel.Harbour and seafront a minute away.Only problem we had was the storage heaters where on when we got there and it was far too warm. Took a day to cool down after switching off - other than that no problems.

Reviewer:Pamela H | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Sean - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at the anchor twice now and each time has been brilliant the staff give a nice welcome the room are great and the food to me is fantastic I will definitely be booking the anchor hotel again

Reviewer:SeanWilkinson’s| Wed 6th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Stay at Anchor - Rating 5/5

Great Stay. Everything was superb. Will be back.

Reviewer:John C | Sun 27th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Good - Rating 5/5

Good place,friendly staff.

Reviewer:Tamas F | Fri 18th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Very relaxing stay & excellent food- Rating 5/5

Our third stay at the Anchor Hotel as we love it there, we stayed in the little fisherman's cottage across the road, which was perfect for my elderly Mum. The beds are so comfy, the view of the harbour with the waves rolling in was fantastic! We stayed four days, ate in the hotel every night, the food is delicious and staff are perfect, made us so welcome. Such a friendly village atmosphere too with a little shop next doorwhich sells everything you could need. We will be back that is certain.

Reviewer:Alison M | Sat 24th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Self Catering
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian