Reviews

What people are saying about The Anchor Hotel




Summary
4.8

Memorable stay - Rating 5/5

My husband and I brought his mother to The Anchor as a pre-Christmas treat. We have stayed a number of times before and felt sure she would enjoy it as we do. We were right! She did. We had a lovely time. Comfy rooms with pretty soft furnishings. Varied menu and delicious food. The Anchor's prawn cocktail is the best ever! Breakfast didn't disappoint either. Owners and staff all welcoming and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and we'll definitely be back.

Response

Thank you very much

Reviewer: Kathleen| Mon 12th Dec 2022 | 1 year ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

What can I say... We stayed in the apartment which was impeccably turned out for our stay.... Food was excellent as we're the staff... Definitely be back...

Response

Thank you Andy

Reviewer: Andy S | Fri 2nd Dec 2022 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Great food, spotless room, wonderful atmosphere and friendly helpful staff especially Cath! Was well worth the drive from Glasgow for Gary”s food. We will definitely be back!

Response

Thank you very much

Reviewer: Daniel| Mon 21st Nov 2022 | 1 year ago


Delicious food in picturesque harbour - Rating 5/5

We chanced upon the Anchor while exploring the area and decided to stay when the weather turned bad. It was easy to book and we were given a warm welcome. The staff were all personable and professional. We had dinner and breakfast and the food was superb. Great choice of fresh local produce. This really is a gem of a place to stay in a beautiful coastal setting.

Response

Thank you very much

Reviewer: Wendy S | Sun 20th Nov 2022 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Anchor at a personally difficult time for us and the staff were fantastic , we felt we received a collective hug from them . We are vegan and vegetarian and we enjoyed two wonderful dishes packed with well balanced flavour .The bar is a lovely place to sit and enjoy a good beer , love the different chairs and tables .Breakfast was good too . Thankyou to all at the Anchor .

Response

Thank you very much

Reviewer: KATHERINE W | Sat 12th Nov 2022 | 1 year ago


Johnshaven Anchor Hotel- Rating 5/5

Our stay at Anchor hotel was most enjoyable the food was lovely,all the staff were very helpful,we have been coming to the Anchor hotel now for the last 7 years and will continue to do so for hopefully many more.

Response

Thank you very much Helen

Reviewer: Helen| Tue 8th Nov 2022 | 1 year ago


Great as usual - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable accommodation with all the necessary comforts

Response

Thank you John

Reviewer: John| Fri 28th Oct 2022 | 1 year ago


Lovely night away - Rating 5/5

The atmosphere is wonderful as soon as you walk in the door. The warm welcome from the lovely staff is second to none.Room on small side but clean and everything you need with comfortable bed and little noise. Food out of this world, specialising in freshly caught produce brought in to harbour. After a good nights sleep, a wonderful full Scottish breakfast served to your table by ever obliging staff. Loved it. Would highly recommend a visit.

Response

Thank you Ronald

Reviewer: Ronald C | Tue 25th Oct 2022 | 1 year ago


Amazing Food & Staff - Rating 5/5

We stayed here with my sister and noisy pup. Nothing was too much for the staff especially Magnus & Cath, food was amazing and not overpriced. Rooms were small but adequate could have dine with a longer hanging rail but it was fine we managed and had the noisy pup. We would definitely recommend this hotel in fact we will be back with the noisy pup. Lovely peaceful area too. Keep a table for us.

Response

Betty, thank you, look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewer: Betty N | Mon 24th Oct 2022 | 1 year ago


Fab apartment opposite a fantastic pub, round the corner to a wonderful café and right next to the sea - Rating 5/5

A great little apartment which suited four friends really well. Nice lounge, good sized bathroom, great kitchen, double room and twin. One of the sofas in the lounge was a sofa bed which was handy as it meant we all had our own bed. The pub over the road is brilliant, great food, good drinks, fab service. It is very busy so make sure you book. The cafe is also great, good breakfast rolls and lovely cake. The sea front is also very picturesque. We would recommend.

Response

Thank you, Jennie

Reviewer: Jennie R | Fri 21st Oct 2022 | 1 year ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Bar
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Free Parking
  • Pet Friendly Room
  • Restaurant
  • Self-catering
  • Vegetarian
  • Free Wifi